Sample Saturday – three from Six Degrees

Sample Saturday is when I wade through the eleventy billion samples I have downloaded on my Kindle. I’m slowly chipping away and deciding whether it’s buy or bye.

Happenstance by Carol Shields

Why I have it: Spotted in Margaret’s Six Degrees chain.

Summary: Story of a marriage from two perspectives (the wife and the husband).

I’m thinking: Yes.

The Naturalist by Thom Conroy

Why I have it: Spotted in Lisa’s Six Degrees chain.

Summary: Historical novel based on the real life of Dr Ernst Dieffenbach: scientist, explorer, revolutionary, outcast.

I’m thinking: Maybe.

Louis & Louise by Julie Cohen

Why I have it: Spotted on Cathy’s Six Degrees chain.

Summary: One life, lived different ways (being born male or female). Louis and Louise are the same in many ways – same best friends, same parents, same dream of being a writer. But because of their gender, everything looks different.

I’m thinking: Yes.



17 responses

  1. How interesting that Happenstance and Louis and Louise share that dual perspective, male vs. female. I’ve enjoyed all the Shields novels I’ve read and would like to revisit this one; I DNFed the Cohen, but perhaps you’ll get on better with it.

  2. I read Happenstance years ago & I can’t remember much but I do remember enjoying it and thinking the dual perspective worked well. Depending on how you get on, it may be time for a re-read!

  3. I finished Happenstance earlier this year and very much enjoyed it. It was the male/female perspectives that made it. Enough so that I wanted to check that Louis and Louise was already on my TBR list.

    In the paperback copy I read of Happenstance, the parts started on opposite sides of the book (and therefore upside down). Very clever – and one had to choose which to read first. I read it in the order of publication. The Husband’s Story was first published in Canada by McGraw-Hill Ryerson in 1980. Happenstance, The Wife’s Story was first published as A Fairly Conventional Woman in Canada by Macmillan of Canada 1982. The combined copy I read was first published in Great Britain by Fourth Estate Limited 1991 .

    The need for publishing info constructs the [paperback] book so that most will start with the wife’s story. I read in order of publication (ie husband first). Glad I did, although I suspect I would have enjoyed the other way ’round as well.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.